top of page
 The Chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which literally translates to wheel or disk. In holistic practices chakras refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. Although there are seven main chakras, some say there can be over a hundred of you include the ones in every joint and organ as well as above and below our physical body (subtle body or astral body). 

Chakras are like swirling wheels of energy where the physical and consciousness meet. This energy is called Prana or Ki (chi), the vital life force that keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.


The seven main chakras are aligned with the spine and start from the very base of the spine (Root chakra) through to the top of the head (Crown chakra). Each chakra corresponds to glands and major organs in the body. Each of the main chakras also contain our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being.

In order to achieve complete wellbeing the chakras need to become balanced and open so that the energy can move fluidly between each of them and also connect them all. If there is a blockage in one (or many), the energy cannot flow easily throughout the body, this creates blockages which over time can manifest as various imbalances (emotional or physical). Helping to balance one chakra helps to bring the others into balance as well, during holistic energy healing we treat all the chakras in order to bring them all into balance to help bring you into a state of wellness.  

Keeping the energy flowing freely within our chakra system is much easier to do when you have awareness of each chakra and what an imbalance might feel like. Below is a breakdown of the seven chakras and what each one represents.

Root Chakra

The Root chakra is the first in the chakra system.

It's energy is based on the earth element and it

relates to our feelings of safety and grounding.

The Root chakra or Muladhara is

located at the

base of the spine

Sacral Chakra

The Sacral chakra is the second chakra.

It's energy is based on the water element and relates to our  emotional body, sensuality, and creativity.

The Sacral chakra or Svadhisthana is located below the navel, at the center of your lower belly 

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus chakra is

our third chakra.

It's energy is based on the 

fire element and it relates to

our expression of will and 

personal power.

The Solar Plexus or Manipura is located in the upper part of the belly, where your diaphragm rests 

Heart Chakra

The Heart chakra is the fourth chakra in our chakra system.

It's energy is based on the air element and relates to

love, emotions and connection to ourselves and others.

The Heart chakra or Anahata

is located directly in the center of the chest 

Throat Chakra

The Throat chakra is the fifth chakra. It's energy is based on the element of sound and relates to our communication and how truthful we are. 

The Throat Chakra or Visuddha is located at the center of the neck at the level of the throat

Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye chakra is the sixth chakra.

It's element is light and

relates to our intuition and foresight.

It is driven by the principle of openness and imagination.

The Third Eye chakra or Anja is located on the forehead, between the eyebrows

Crown Chakra

The Crown chakra is the seventh chakra. 

It's element is

consciousness and

relates to wisdom, unity and connection with spirit. 

The Crown chakra or Sahasrara is located at the

top of the head

(crown of the head)

Other Chakras

The High Heart chakra is 

currently not included in the traditional chakra system. It relates to our compassion, empathy and unconditional love  

We also have other chakras located in our hands, feet

and joints 

bottom of page